Pinterest Blog #1 … the Obnoxious Know-it-All

Ok. I can easily think of 30 different reasons why I hate Pinterest. (And I may write a blog about each and every one of them … lucky you! And by “you” I’m referring to the 6 people that read my blog) This does not, though, prevent me from looking at Pinterest EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. Why? Glutton for punishment? Secret desire to be a “Pinterest Mom”? Boredom? A way to fill the black, wrinkly, hole in my soul? Who knows … trust me, I don’t pretend to “get” my brain.

So today I am focusing on issue #1 … the “inspirational” quotes. Now, first, who the hell knows if any of these quotes are actually credited to the correct person. There was a whole article I read recently about Morgan Freeman – did you see this? Everyone was posting this supposed quote by him and he didn’t even say it. This, unfortunately, happens to me all the time when I get together with friends.

Friend to Hubby: So, we heard you were clinically diagnosed with OCD. How are you doing?

Hubby: What?! Um … what?

Me: I NEVER said that!! NEVER!!

Me (grabbing friend and throwing her into the next room): Really?! I thought we agreed that whatever stuff we said about our husbands was always a “slight exaggeration”.

What really gets me though are the demands these quotes put on us. For example:

“Think Happy. Be Happy.”

Ok, I’m trying. But sometimes my day sucks. I don’t know if I can do that for you.

“Make today ridiculously amazing.”

Um, that’s a lot of pressure. I don’t think I can do just regular amazing, let alone ridiculously.

And then there are the contradictory quotes – sometimes right next to each other.

“Never give up on anybody. Miracles happen everyday.”

“Sometimes, when you give up on someone, it’s not because you don’t care anymore, but because you realize they don’t”

Wait, I thought miracles happened everyday??? NEVER GIVE UP.  Or maybe I should give up?

“Respect yourself enough to walk away from anything that no longer serves you, grows you, or makes you happy”

“One of the WORST mistakes you will do is walking away from the person that stood there and waited for you”

Yeah, but what if they don’t make me happy anymore??

“Do more of what makes you happy.”

“Don’t give up what you want most, for what you want now.”

Well, eating cupcakes make me happy, but I also want to lose weight. Can I eat more of them or not??

And the creme de la creme – the exercise quotes. Jesus. Talk about shaming you.

“To exercise or not to exercise. What a STUPID question.”

“You can feel sore tomorrow or you can feel sorry tomorrow. YOU CHOOSE.”

“If you aren’t working towards it, then maybe you don’t DESERVE it.”

“Don’t talk about getting things done, just get them DONE!”

Jeez Louise. I picture some hardcore fitness trainer like Jillian Michaels screaming these little tidbits of inspiration at my guilt ridden face. And she always ends it with, “YOU BITCH!”. And I always end it by crying.

I will say this though – every once in awhile I stumble across a quote that really resonates. That is just exactly me – what I’m thinking or feeling or doing or whatever.  And then I make up with Pinterest … for a little while anyway.  Here’s my latest:

e6ad44ada89cd082fa777b9523ee7000

Damn right!!!

Leave a Reply

