My 5 Mothers … Robyn

Robyn

Robyn is my wicked stepmother.  I’M JUST KIDDING!!  She is my stepmother though.  And it took me a long time to be able to say that, but I say it freely and comfortably and, most importantly, proudly, now.

It took us a long time to get to know each other and while I wish it had been quicker and easier, I’m so grateful for where we are today that I wouldn’t change a thing.

I felt like she was the first person to really “get” the stress I was under being a mom.  Especially when she became one.  She didn’t just send me adorable gifts for the kids, but she paid for a babysitter for us for those years when I had a 4 year old, 3 year old, and 3 month old … and she paid for my gym membership during those years as well!  We couldn’t afford any of that and those two things saved me from jumping off the roof on many, many occasions.

She has spent years trying to create a family – it is probably the most important thing to her – and it has most definitely not been easy

So just recently two amazing things have happened in relation to creating that family.  She adopted a baby and she and my father moved closer to us.  Just one of these things is pretty awesome, but both has been so incredibly wonderful.  This baby is truly a miracle and such a sweet, sweet gift to our family.  And having more of my family close?  I feel so lucky.  We all do.

And she is an amazing “grandmother” (LOL!) to my kids and I can tell she truly loves them.  And there’s honestly nothing better than that … seeing people love your kids.  And they adore her.

She has been ridiculously encouraging in supporting my writing and always makes me feel like I am good at what I do.  She’s pissed at me if I don’t get a chance to blog on any given day and refers to herself as one of my groupies.

She’s the person that knows exactly what presents to buy, what help to offer, and what vacations to recommend 🙂  We go away with them now every summer to the Adirondacks – she plans everything! – and we have the best time.  The kids talk about it all year long, until the next year, when we make more memories – and have more things to laugh about.

She can tease and be teased – which is HUGE in this family and I truly love the relationship we’ve found together.  She is kind and thoughtful, generous and sweet, caring and considerate.  She is young at heart and an amazing mother to my youngest brother and my newly adopted sister.

But most importantly, she has somehow found a way to be just the right balance with me.  She is my friend, but she is more than that.  No one can replace my mother, but she has found this perfect niche in my heart that helps soothe that missing piece.  She didn’t have to try this hard and she didn’t have to make all this effort and I am so thankful for the person she is because everything is a choice, and she has chosen to be my friend and my family.  I am forever grateful for that.

Happy birthday, Robyn … and Happy Mother’s Day!  I love you.

robyn

Leave a Reply

